South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Western Cape / A / CPT

Cape Town

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 52,4B2022/23
Reported revenueR 54,4BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage1,77 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 52,4BR 54,4B
2023/24R 58,3BR 61,8B
2024/25R 63,9BR 67,5B

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/242,02%
2024/251,127%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 14 244 930 532,00
Water DistributionR 6 427 703 914,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 4 092 701 566,00
FinanceR 2 231 524 871,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 2 122 432 323,00
RoadsR 2 072 553 870,00
SewerageR 2 009 989 534,00
Health ServicesR 1 498 698 017,00
Public TransportR 1 416 988 971,00
HousingR 1 256 523 744,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 1 222 147 317,00
Fleet ManagementR 1 173 312 761,00
Information TechnologyR 1 147 047 998,00
Street CleaningR 954 559 784,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 839 222 028,00
Property ServicesR 811 495 932,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 689 516 174,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 679 657 431,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 553 463 472,00
Mayor and CouncilR 516 031 454,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 494 757 013,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 492 396 883,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 485 989 074,00
Human ResourcesR 477 171 982,00
Water StorageR 461 108 285,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 341 283 498,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 326 190 609,00
TourismR 285 599 048,00
Informal SettlementsR 267 721 314,00
Storm Water ManagementR 257 318 458,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 244 664 419,00
Legal ServicesR 234 534 807,00
Water TreatmentR 233 620 409,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 219 884 380,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 207 818 464,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 200 661 961,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 179 487 166,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 164 058 951,00
Valuation ServiceR 130 856 558,00
Population DevelopmentR 105 982 567,00
Disaster ManagementR 90 282 523,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 82 077 617,00
Security ServicesR 68 205 439,00
Beaches and JettiesR 61 305 628,00
Governance FunctionR 55 221 046,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 53 265 203,00
Nonelectric EnergyR 43 435 085,00
Cultural MattersR 36 140 060,00
Coastal ProtectionR 34 468 706,00
Licensing and RegulationR 31 749 117,00
Risk ManagementR 30 464 344,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 28 585 354,00
Project Management UnitR 15 870 941,00
Asset ManagementR 15 042 654,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 9 485 436,00
Food ControlR 6 830 084,00
Public ToiletsR 6 424 417,00
Laboratory ServicesR 4 645 195,00
TheatresR 305 102,00
Child Care FacilitiesR 62 728,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 2 474,00
AmbulanceR 411,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage1,77 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance3,619%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.