Follow the evidence
Compare matched annual figures, audit outcomes and underlying Treasury records before drawing conclusions.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
Compare matched annual figures, audit outcomes and underlying Treasury records before drawing conclusions.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | R 1,5B | R 1,6B |
| 2023/24 | R 1,7B | R 1,8B |
| 2024/25 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | 0,496% |
| 2023/24 | 0,857% |
| 2024/25 | Not reported |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Water Distribution | R 743 918 534,00 |
| Sewerage | R 392 539 309,00 |
| Finance | R 99 752 199,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 73 520 512,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 67 628 138,00 |
| Economic Development/Planning | R 53 258 967,00 |
| Fire Fighting and Protection | R 49 304 023,00 |
| Information Technology | R 40 510 467,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 37 291 728,00 |
| Human Resources | R 36 440 925,00 |
| Health Services | R 30 352 806,00 |
| Legal Services | R 21 199 878,00 |
| Project Management Unit | R 13 295 938,00 |
| Supply Chain Management | R 12 695 483,00 |
| Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordination | R 9 058 941,00 |
| Governance Function | R 7 281 925,00 |
| Asset Management | R 6 857 781,00 |
| Disaster Management | R 5 409 862,00 |
| Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City Engineer | R 5 074 222,00 |
| Support to Local Municipalities | R 4 198 775,00 |
| Public Transport | R 3 977 072,00 |
| Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites) | R 3 044 602,00 |
| Water Treatment | R 2 620 941,00 |
| Housing | R 1 455 725,00 |
| Risk Management | R 1 251 100,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | 0,857% | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 2,403 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | 5,76% | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |