South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / C / DC13

Chris Hani

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,6B2022/23
Reported revenueR 1,3BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage7,764 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,6BR 1,3B
2023/24R 1,4BR 1,4B
2024/25R 2BR 1,4B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 1 015 606 271,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 135 523 203,00
FinanceR 81 275 621,00
Project Management UnitR 57 863 743,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 53 306 714,00
SewerageR 48 580 001,00
Fleet ManagementR 36 885 404,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 33 795 479,00
Information TechnologyR 32 266 082,00
Legal ServicesR 24 881 266,00
Human ResourcesR 20 230 881,00
Mayor and CouncilR 17 436 825,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 15 917 833,00
Disaster ManagementR 11 162 439,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 9 697 066,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 5 513 203,00
Population DevelopmentR 5 348 026,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 5 253 316,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 3 530 877,00
Governance FunctionR 3 169 508,00
Asset ManagementR 2 319 127,00
RoadsR 1 376 829,00
Health ServicesR 1 084 691,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2015/16

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage7,764 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-22,009%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.