South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Free State / C / DC19

Thabo Mofutsanyana

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 162,5M2022/23
Reported revenueR 148,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-0,141 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 162,5MR 148,6M
2023/24R 164,6MR 160,6M
2024/25R 176,7MR 169,3M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 34 295 035,00
Population DevelopmentR 26 354 507,00
Mayor and CouncilR 26 199 845,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 23 625 827,00
FinanceR 20 430 545,00
Project Management UnitR 18 940 216,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 4 371 294,00
AgriculturalR 3 506 386,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 2 162 468,00
RoadsR 1 439 820,00
Laboratory ServicesR 706 215,00
Disaster ManagementR 355 576,00
Pollution ControlR 92 392,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-0,141 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-9,331%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.