South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC23

Uthukela

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,1B2022/23
Reported revenueR 830,7MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage6,766 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,1BR 830,7M
2023/24R 1,2BR 960,4M
2024/25R 1,3BR 1B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 572 978 685,00
FinanceR 250 493 037,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 126 774 337,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 35 254 463,00
Health ServicesR 27 931 485,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 16 867 241,00
Mayor and CouncilR 12 732 999,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 7 742 782,00
Human ResourcesR 7 617 127,00
Fleet ManagementR 6 774 339,00
Legal ServicesR 6 747 244,00
Media ServicesR 6 393 717,00
Disaster ManagementR 5 457 734,00
Laboratory ServicesR 5 172 634,00
Asset ManagementR 4 501 198,00
Information TechnologyR 3 196 288,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 1 403 285,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2020/21

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage6,766 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-32,176%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.