South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC27

Umkhanyakude

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 847,3M2023/24
Reported revenueR 674,7MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage5,853 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 753MR 607,2M
2023/24R 847,3MR 674,7M
2024/25R 1,1BR 747,6M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 282 649 079,00
FinanceR 182 993 456,00
ElectricityR 101 690 468,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 69 984 667,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 61 930 481,00
Security ServicesR 36 240 059,00
Asset ManagementR 32 825 923,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 32 485 362,00
Mayor and CouncilR 28 264 808,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 7 365 370,00
RoadsR 3 441 032,00
Human ResourcesR 3 048 946,00
Media ServicesR 1 315 483,00
Fleet ManagementR 915 665,00
Disaster ManagementR 592 270,00
TourismR 309 819,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 298 476,00
Child Care FacilitiesR 255 018,00
Water TreatmentR 241 870,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 128 434,00
Development FacilitationR 101 062,00
Vector ControlR 85 006,00
Aged CareR 71 285,00
Population DevelopmentR 58 915,00
Food ControlR 37 873,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Adverse opinion

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Adverse opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage5,853 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-25,581%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.