South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC29

iLembe

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,4B2022/23
Reported revenueR 1,2BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage1,606 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,4BR 1,2B
2023/24R 1,4BR 1,5B
2024/25R 1,8BR 1,7B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 460 478 130,00
FinanceR 348 250 142,00
Project Management UnitR 121 207 633,00
Fleet ManagementR 115 437 093,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 90 657 269,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 59 417 200,00
SewerageR 58 625 081,00
Information TechnologyR 26 015 002,00
Water TreatmentR 22 914 957,00
Health ServicesR 15 860 199,00
Mayor and CouncilR 14 215 750,00
Population DevelopmentR 12 962 380,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 11 678 802,00
Human ResourcesR 10 489 239,00
Risk ManagementR 9 907 281,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 7 288 800,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 7 073 189,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 6 749 621,00
Disaster ManagementR 5 961 593,00
Governance FunctionR 4 350 366,00
Asset ManagementR 3 876 958,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 3 710 105,00
Legal ServicesR 2 931 473,00
Cultural MattersR 540 669,00
Health Surveillance and Prevention of Communicable Diseases including immunizationsR 116 548,00
Vector ControlR 93 588,00
Food ControlR 65 594,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage1,606 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-14,438%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.