South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Western Cape / C / DC2

Cape Winelands DM

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 463,7M2023/24
Reported revenueR 486,1MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage5,656 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 400,6MR 450,3M
2023/24R 463,7MR 486,1M
2024/25R 462,1MR 512,5M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 120 619 507,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 82 811 373,00
Mayor and CouncilR 51 317 708,00
Health ServicesR 41 571 936,00
FinanceR 17 280 749,00
Property ServicesR 16 582 512,00
Population DevelopmentR 15 093 460,00
Information TechnologyR 14 399 579,00
Human ResourcesR 13 493 073,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 13 262 472,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 12 056 256,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 10 405 931,00
TourismR 9 348 016,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 8 843 379,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 7 127 425,00
Disaster ManagementR 5 769 905,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 4 748 223,00
Fleet ManagementR 4 477 388,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 4 440 801,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 3 663 622,00
Governance FunctionR 3 472 101,00
Public TransportR 2 930 080,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage5,656 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance4,609%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.