South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Mpumalanga / C / DC32

Ehlanzeni

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 372,5M2022/23
Reported revenueR 352,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage45,826 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 372,5MR 352,6M
2023/24R 422,5MR 393,9M
2024/25R 400,8MR 378,8M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 133 451 793,00
Mayor and CouncilR 47 335 395,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 44 860 487,00
Health ServicesR 23 895 168,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 20 527 538,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 12 816 821,00
Disaster ManagementR 12 228 678,00
Project Management UnitR 9 708 677,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 8 525 101,00
Human ResourcesR 8 315 099,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 7 561 517,00
Health Surveillance and Prevention of Communicable Diseases including immunizationsR 6 882 527,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 6 371 455,00
Governance FunctionR 4 462 264,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 4 332 781,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 3 992 328,00
Cultural MattersR 3 764 977,00
Water DistributionR 2 629 829,00
Laboratory ServicesR 2 599 443,00
RoadsR 2 534 622,00
Information TechnologyR 2 438 145,00
Risk ManagementR 2 303 050,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 510 836,00
Support to Local MunicipalitiesR 498 493,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2018/19

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2015/16

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable
2013/14

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage45,826 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-5,651%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.