South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / C / DC33

Mopani

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,9B2022/23
Reported revenueR 1,6BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,276 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,9BR 1,6B
2023/24R 2BR 1,7B
2024/25R 2,9BR 1,9B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 666 508 258,00
Water TreatmentR 631 632 496,00
FinanceR 105 780 639,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 94 129 438,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 74 241 462,00
Mayor and CouncilR 45 939 770,00
Health ServicesR 39 441 904,00
Legal ServicesR 37 636 979,00
Project Management UnitR 30 854 243,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 29 570 481,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 28 249 990,00
SewerageR 27 221 171,00
Asset ManagementR 24 380 543,00
Disaster ManagementR 19 825 133,00
Human ResourcesR 18 735 431,00
Information TechnologyR 14 927 662,00
Governance FunctionR 9 904 453,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 8 081 470,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 7 709 584,00
RoadsR 5 051 291,00
Development FacilitationR 4 721 972,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 4 271 066,00
AgriculturalR 3 619 877,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 3 227 582,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 2 013 006,00
ElectricityR 1 950 805,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 1 465 212,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2013/14

Adverse opinion

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,276 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-24,13%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.