South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / C / DC34

Vhembe

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 2,4B2022/23
Reported revenueR 2,2BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage7,905 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 2,4BR 2,2B
2023/24R 2,1BR 1,9B
2024/25R 2,5BR 2,2B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 922 118 659,00
FinanceR 908 175 696,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 134 171 322,00
Population DevelopmentR 132 466 986,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 90 325 306,00
Mayor and CouncilR 40 568 422,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 36 787 419,00
Fleet ManagementR 36 247 775,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 21 071 433,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 12 566 190,00
Property ServicesR 11 391 122,00
Nature ConservationR 8 147 999,00
Water TreatmentR 4 407 952,00
RoadsR 2 093 042,00
TourismR 2 012 218,00
Governance FunctionR 1 217 935,00
Development FacilitationR 1 091 279,00
Health ServicesR 736 621,00
Disaster ManagementR 675 189,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 375 930,00
Risk ManagementR 319 770,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 312 736,00
MarketsR 220 792,00
Public TransportR 205 991,00
AbattoirsR 148 750,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 133 450,00
Human ResourcesR 52 000,00
Security ServicesR 28 770,00
Pollution ControlR 7 350,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage7,905 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-9,042%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.