South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
North West / C / DC40

Dr Kenneth Kaunda

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 250M2023/24
Reported revenueR 229,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage31,558 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 233,3MR 225,4M
2023/24R 250MR 229,5M
2024/25R 233,9MR 232,8M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 63 296 270,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 46 863 438,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 40 073 775,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 35 180 076,00
FinanceR 35 149 378,00
Mayor and CouncilR 22 587 067,00
Governance FunctionR 6 893 266,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2014/15

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2013/14

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2010/11

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage31,558 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-8,962%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.