South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Gauteng / C / DC42

Sedibeng

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 428,4M2023/24
Reported revenueR 410MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage0,832 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Short cash runway

Year-end cash covered less than one month of reported operating expenditure. Review the financial statements for context.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 399,3MR 395,2M
2023/24R 428,4MR 410M
2024/25R 426,5MR 421,8M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Road and Traffic RegulationR 74 128 579,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 60 556 985,00
Mayor and CouncilR 44 096 420,00
Security ServicesR 31 829 147,00
Information TechnologyR 21 212 076,00
Health ServicesR 19 327 624,00
FinanceR 17 736 471,00
Human ResourcesR 14 488 981,00
MarketsR 13 789 165,00
Property ServicesR 13 260 221,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 12 355 922,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 11 383 396,00
Development FacilitationR 9 989 366,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 9 826 809,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 9 293 580,00
Disaster ManagementR 7 656 003,00
Governance FunctionR 7 337 069,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 5 665 015,00
Civil DefenceR 5 174 704,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 4 560 844,00
Fleet ManagementR 4 326 731,00
Legal ServicesR 3 905 205,00
Air TransportR 3 812 858,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 3 800 578,00
TourismR 3 561 072,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 3 448 316,00
Pollution ControlR 3 264 084,00
TheatresR 2 811 183,00
HousingR 1 837 936,00
Project Management UnitR 1 452 951,00
Risk ManagementR 1 103 947,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 986 928,00
Taxi RanksR 366 275,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 49 124,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage0,832 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-4,496%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.