South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Western Cape / C / DC5

Central Karoo

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 122,8M2023/24
Reported revenueR 121,4MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-6,699 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 117,7MR 113,5M
2023/24R 122,8MR 121,4M
2024/25R 115,8MR 115,3M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 66 250 118,00
FinanceR 14 258 949,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 9 750 070,00
Mayor and CouncilR 7 350 185,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 5 896 263,00
Health ServicesR 5 686 298,00
Human ResourcesR 4 195 121,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 2 988 815,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 1 657 067,00
Civil DefenceR 1 570 011,00
Governance FunctionR 1 193 880,00
Legal ServicesR 1 108 174,00
Disaster ManagementR 814 293,00
TourismR 55 096,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-6,699 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-1,1%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.