South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / C / DC8

Z F Mgcawu

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 95M2023/24
Reported revenueR 91,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage6,336 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 85,7MR 87,6M
2023/24R 95MR 91,5M
2024/25R 96,9MR 92,1M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 15 151 609,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 9 801 622,00
Mayor and CouncilR 9 673 852,00
Project Management UnitR 8 569 786,00
Health ServicesR 7 198 974,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 6 077 266,00
Human ResourcesR 6 041 542,00
Information TechnologyR 4 434 290,00
Asset ManagementR 3 934 963,00
Governance FunctionR 3 885 349,00
Security ServicesR 3 480 495,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 3 420 002,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 3 225 607,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 2 827 656,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 550 342,00
Risk ManagementR 1 541 533,00
TourismR 1 491 511,00
Property ServicesR 1 407 070,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 1 240 576,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 1 398,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2016/17

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage6,336 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-3,805%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.