South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / B / EC104

Makana

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 842,9M2023/24
Reported revenueR 777,8MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio0,985%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-2,917 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 681,3MR 644M
2023/24R 842,9MR 777,8M
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/230,876%
2023/240,985%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 218 166 526,00
ElectricityR 210 902 951,00
FinanceR 86 849 557,00
SewerageR 44 745 885,00
Property ServicesR 41 293 355,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 33 197 207,00
RoadsR 29 891 065,00
Mayor and CouncilR 25 125 132,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 18 334 681,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 15 310 016,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 13 150 933,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 13 010 497,00
Water TreatmentR 11 637 931,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 11 018 079,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 9 434 227,00
Storm Water ManagementR 8 668 902,00
Human ResourcesR 7 557 476,00
Health ServicesR 6 713 710,00
Street CleaningR 6 173 389,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 908 752,00
Information TechnologyR 4 195 110,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 3 502 915,00
Governance FunctionR 3 385 179,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 2 833 496,00
Legal ServicesR 2 802 683,00
Asset ManagementR 2 047 394,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 1 960 137,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 713 857,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 1 350 237,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 1 318 077,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 610 546,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 597 341,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 361 353,00
HousingR 139 500,00
Project Management UnitR 13 787,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance0,985%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-2,917 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-8,375%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.