South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / B / EC153

Ngquza Hills

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 436,5M2023/24
Reported revenueNot reportedRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio1,616%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage9,777 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 396,1MR 379,9M
2023/24R 436,5MNot reported
2024/25R 472,5MR 497M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/232,242%
2023/241,616%
2024/251,631%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 84 336 572,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 78 823 692,00
FinanceR 73 422 310,00
Mayor and CouncilR 40 365 686,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 37 993 125,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 36 234 782,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 27 704 058,00
Fleet ManagementR 13 842 230,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 13 604 746,00
Information TechnologyR 11 119 475,00
Human ResourcesR 6 259 404,00
Legal ServicesR 5 842 357,00
Governance FunctionR 2 684 384,00
Project Management UnitR 1 623 278,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 1 550 598,00
Risk ManagementR 1 071 891,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance1,616%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage9,777 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balanceNot reportedRevenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.