South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Free State / B / FS194

Maluti-a-Phofung

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 3B2023/24
Reported revenueR 1,5BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio1,448%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-2,409 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 2,5BR 1,4B
2023/24R 3BR 1,5B
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/230,821%
2023/241,448%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 1 149 944 649,00
FinanceR 854 920 175,00
Water DistributionR 293 943 959,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 212 527 013,00
Security ServicesR 62 543 259,00
Mayor and CouncilR 52 865 529,00
RoadsR 47 290 699,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 38 927 944,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 32 555 700,00
Legal ServicesR 31 642 666,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 30 006 376,00
Human ResourcesR 20 946 109,00
Civil DefenceR 19 398 583,00
Asset ManagementR 17 509 190,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 15 188 637,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 15 014 308,00
Information TechnologyR 13 276 668,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 11 472 773,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 10 229 434,00
Governance FunctionR 8 095 157,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 7 613 613,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 7 308 433,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 7 244 411,00
HousingR 4 456 799,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 3 868 808,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 3 707 114,00
TourismR 3 475 816,00
Property ServicesR 3 327 987,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 310 203,00
Population DevelopmentR 3 061 293,00
Risk ManagementR 1 367 472,00
Disaster ManagementR 100 000,00
Waste Water Treatment-R 26 358 839,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2021/22

Outstanding

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Outstanding

Source link unavailable
2017/18

Outstanding

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Outstanding

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance1,448%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-2,409 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-93,124%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.