South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Gauteng / B / GT484

Merafong City

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 2,4B2022/23
Reported revenueR 2BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-4,514 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 2,4BR 2B
2023/24R 3,3BR 2,6B
2024/25R 3,6BR 2,2B

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/240,084%
2024/250,912%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 592 965 861,00
Water DistributionR 570 882 595,00
ElectricityR 547 923 715,00
RoadsR 144 356 898,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 98 705 464,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 62 018 419,00
Fleet ManagementR 49 590 677,00
SewerageR 49 559 700,00
Human ResourcesR 46 771 064,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 34 501 839,00
Security ServicesR 28 974 727,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 21 002 864,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 20 331 042,00
Mayor and CouncilR 19 398 748,00
Information TechnologyR 19 245 078,00
Legal ServicesR 15 453 405,00
Property ServicesR 10 769 515,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 8 334 601,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 8 264 013,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 6 999 713,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 6 967 646,00
HousingR 6 228 855,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 5 689 369,00
Project Management UnitR 4 570 828,00
Governance FunctionR 4 383 695,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 014 745,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 2 238 895,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 2 059 965,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 1 853 606,00
Risk ManagementR 1 411 841,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 731 824,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 462 143,00
Health ServicesR 289,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-4,514 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-21,063%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.