South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Gauteng / A / JHB

City of Johannesburg

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

33,2 / 100Financial pressure

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 61B2022/23
Reported revenueR 60,6BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio1,737%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage0,929 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Short cash runway

Year-end cash covered less than one month of reported operating expenditure. Review the financial statements for context.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 61BR 60,6B
2023/24R 74,9BR 71,2B
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/231,737%
2023/241,956%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 16 491 867 432,00
FinanceR 11 055 296 220,00
Water DistributionR 6 863 980 181,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 4 351 096 246,00
Human ResourcesR 2 455 993 558,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 2 225 655 897,00
Fleet ManagementR 1 959 641 910,00
Civil DefenceR 1 858 159 946,00
Public TransportR 1 740 100 228,00
HousingR 1 467 159 976,00
Health ServicesR 1 062 354 920,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 912 703 121,00
Risk ManagementR 704 395 560,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 690 392 921,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 688 031 589,00
Property ServicesR 677 748 020,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 668 912 669,00
MarketsR 467 177 905,00
Licensing and RegulationR 422 818 874,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 404 062 880,00
RoadsR 337 047 000,00
Legal ServicesR 296 907 838,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 288 364 536,00
Population DevelopmentR 278 734 231,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 267 006 440,00
Water TreatmentR 240 174 943,00
Mayor and CouncilR 214 661 867,00
Asset ManagementR 208 351 660,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 200 906 529,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 198 304 659,00
TheatresR 197 269 242,00
Pollution ControlR 194 271 663,00
Security ServicesR 166 475 761,00
Information TechnologyR 155 808 949,00
Street CleaningR 99 871 990,00
Valuation ServiceR 73 988 243,00
Project Management UnitR 64 712 049,00
Governance FunctionR 56 753 342,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 51 107 118,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 49 902 834,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 44 102 835,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 35 060 871,00
Disaster ManagementR 30 567 456,00
Zoo'sR 23 827 488,00
TourismR 23 382 385,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 15 291 185,00
SewerageR 12 737 541,00
Health Surveillance and Prevention of Communicable Diseases including immunizationsR 10 829 906,00
Water StorageR 7 192 949,00
Vector ControlR 6 988 247,00
BillboardsR 4 691 637,00
EducationR 2 906 892,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 1 958 494,00
AmbulanceR 1 903 165,00
Food ControlR 1 030 503,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 32 392,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 9 078,00
Child Care FacilitiesR 6 529,00
Development Facilitation-R 12 947 330,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance1,737%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage0,929 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-0,609%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.