South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN213

Umzumbe

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 253,2M2022/23
Reported revenueR 178MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-39,388 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 253,2MR 178M
2023/24R 247,3MR 189,5M
2024/25R 257,4MR 200,4M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Mayor and CouncilR 50 061 502,00
RoadsR 41 925 703,00
Asset ManagementR 34 109 739,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 30 765 517,00
FinanceR 18 920 005,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 10 446 807,00
ElectricityR 9 425 515,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 8 877 324,00
Population DevelopmentR 8 867 719,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 8 267 772,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 8 187 805,00
Street CleaningR 2 829 116,00
Information TechnologyR 2 799 335,00
Human ResourcesR 2 557 394,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 2 351 159,00
Disaster ManagementR 2 234 778,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 1 878 425,00
Fleet ManagementR 1 754 141,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 1 680 237,00
Governance FunctionR 1 167 415,00
HousingR 980 842,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 820 500,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 794 893,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 786 300,00
Legal ServicesR 265 649,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 167 465,00
AgriculturalR 119 763,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 87 599,00
TheatresR 77 460,00
Animal Care and DiseasesR 11 065,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-39,388 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-42,285%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.