South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN221

uMshwathi

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 254,5M2022/23
Reported revenueR 211,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage0,495 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Short cash runway

Year-end cash covered less than one month of reported operating expenditure. Review the financial statements for context.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 254,5MR 211,6M
2023/24R 230,2MR 227,3M
2024/25R 251MR 233,2M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/245,253%
2024/255,484%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 71 536 770,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 26 714 668,00
Asset ManagementR 21 171 305,00
Mayor and CouncilR 20 670 412,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 18 518 975,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 14 931 808,00
Project Management UnitR 12 990 362,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 12 282 377,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 11 022 738,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 7 268 048,00
Information TechnologyR 6 319 845,00
RoadsR 4 810 825,00
Human ResourcesR 3 573 949,00
ElectricityR 3 469 657,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 408 486,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 2 540 074,00
Licensing and RegulationR 2 387 087,00
Civil DefenceR 1 995 989,00
Aged CareR 1 775 830,00
Fleet ManagementR 1 590 157,00
Child Care FacilitiesR 1 074 642,00
Health ServicesR 969 323,00
Water DistributionR 916 762,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 804 711,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 794 611,00
HousingR 254 335,00
Cultural MattersR 241 170,00
Disaster ManagementR 190 576,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 127 490,00
Licensing and Control of AnimalsR 60 000,00
Property ServicesR 45 549,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage0,495 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-20,241%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.