South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN235

Okhahlamba

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 266,1M2022/23
Reported revenueR 210,2MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,583 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 266,1MR 210,2M
2023/24R 285,9MR 220M
2024/25R 287,5MR 234,3M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 39 747 605,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 39 503 787,00
FinanceR 31 088 238,00
Mayor and CouncilR 29 427 094,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 24 788 734,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 14 871 927,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 8 315 642,00
Fleet ManagementR 7 552 752,00
ElectricityR 7 026 393,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 6 586 283,00
Disaster ManagementR 6 151 101,00
HousingR 6 053 927,00
Asset ManagementR 5 304 876,00
Human ResourcesR 5 010 441,00
Information TechnologyR 4 705 518,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 4 084 820,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 3 630 206,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 3 350 500,00
Licensing and RegulationR 3 120 454,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 2 891 547,00
Security ServicesR 2 044 183,00
Project Management UnitR 1 937 086,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 1 908 853,00
Risk ManagementR 1 519 703,00
Governance FunctionR 1 374 717,00
Legal ServicesR 1 260 922,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 1 163 458,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 098 957,00
TourismR 662 868,00
PoundsR 231 897,00
Museums and Art Galleries-R 306 898,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,583 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-26,618%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.