South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN237

Inkosi Langalibalele

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

47,8 / 100Financial pressure

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 816,6M2023/24
Reported revenueR 757MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio2,624%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,056 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 749,7MR 692,6M
2023/24R 816,6MR 757M
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/231,706%
2023/242,624%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 369 447 021,00
RoadsR 84 042 884,00
FinanceR 65 829 795,00
Security ServicesR 42 415 259,00
Mayor and CouncilR 32 056 093,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 30 619 868,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 26 600 028,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 22 514 999,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 16 811 686,00
Governance FunctionR 14 477 359,00
HousingR 13 546 674,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 11 601 037,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 9 976 007,00
Street CleaningR 9 700 279,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 9 656 900,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 8 892 576,00
Asset ManagementR 6 061 691,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 5 751 084,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 5 490 884,00
Legal ServicesR 4 762 926,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 4 339 672,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 4 136 618,00
Information TechnologyR 4 079 883,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 2 812 127,00
Disaster ManagementR 2 737 318,00
Human ResourcesR 2 361 332,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 709 723,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 1 207 062,00
Fleet ManagementR 1 084 451,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 1 018 247,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 428 954,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 390 788,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 55 880,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance2,624%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,056 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-7,87%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.