South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN244

Msinga

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 279,7M2022/23
Reported revenueR 265,3MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage15,113 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 279,7MR 265,3M
2023/24R 368,3MR 471,8M
2024/25R 313,7MR 290,3M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 68 460 147,00
ElectricityR 35 534 302,00
Mayor and CouncilR 35 120 443,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 17 883 094,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 16 971 444,00
Information TechnologyR 16 968 063,00
Disaster ManagementR 15 788 592,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 10 408 141,00
FinanceR 9 479 478,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 8 524 727,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 8 457 283,00
HousingR 5 711 156,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 5 434 721,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 5 140 752,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 3 733 521,00
Human ResourcesR 3 112 208,00
Asset ManagementR 3 004 955,00
Project Management UnitR 2 330 214,00
Security ServicesR 2 045 115,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 1 894 740,00
Governance FunctionR 1 833 071,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 886 910,00
Legal ServicesR 725 140,00
RoadsR 507 100,00
TourismR 99 996,00
Child Care Facilities-R 95 558,00
Street Cleaning-R 220 367,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage15,113 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-5,461%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.