South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN254

Dannhauser

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 235,8M2022/23
Reported revenueR 154,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage8,449 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 235,8MR 154,5M
2023/24R 192,9MR 172,3M
2024/25R 230,6MR 182,8M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/245,053%
2024/255,64%

Where expenditure goes

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Project Management UnitR 97 016 234,00
FinanceR 70 852 642,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 21 302 649,00
Mayor and CouncilR 18 982 223,00
Human ResourcesR 17 050 065,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 9 369 126,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 1 187 505,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage8,449 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-52,645%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.