South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN265

Nongoma

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 276,6M2022/23
Reported revenueR 237,4MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage0,678 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Short cash runway

Year-end cash covered less than one month of reported operating expenditure. Review the financial statements for context.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 276,6MR 237,4M
2023/24R 304MR 248,7M
2024/25R 262,2MR 260,7M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 66 653 652,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 36 067 881,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 31 236 038,00
Mayor and CouncilR 21 805 246,00
RoadsR 18 907 153,00
Asset ManagementR 17 021 891,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 15 132 398,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 11 142 973,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 10 481 386,00
Security ServicesR 6 940 973,00
Human ResourcesR 6 871 141,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 6 508 795,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 391 479,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 512 112,00
Licensing and RegulationR 3 451 503,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 2 589 748,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 2 493 055,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 2 479 939,00
Fleet ManagementR 2 285 405,00
Information TechnologyR 1 282 909,00
Project Management UnitR 1 185 918,00
Legal ServicesR 1 156 208,00
Animal Care and DiseasesR 1 016 805,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 578 908,00
HousingR 529 641,00
TourismR 526 291,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 238 099,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 67 800,00
Water DistributionR 17 500,00
Taxi RanksR 9 000,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage0,678 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-16,488%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.