Evidence has limits
A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | R 444,9M | Not reported |
| 2023/24 | R 506,8M | R 507,8M |
| 2024/25 | R 538,3M | R 528,6M |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | 2,617% |
| 2023/24 | 3,173% |
| 2024/25 | 1,846% |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Electricity | R 161 053 702,00 |
| Finance | R 62 406 596,00 |
| Roads | R 28 588 009,00 |
| Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking Control | R 27 953 905,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 27 308 410,00 |
| Solid Waste Removal | R 26 551 425,00 |
| Project Management Unit | R 23 413 177,00 |
| Fleet Management | R 13 844 302,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 11 844 243,00 |
| Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs) | R 11 451 925,00 |
| Fire Fighting and Protection | R 9 406 567,00 |
| Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City Engineer | R 7 954 322,00 |
| Information Technology | R 7 288 659,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 4 247 884,00 |
| Community Halls and Facilities | R 4 041 216,00 |
| Legal Services | R 3 902 483,00 |
| Community Parks (including Nurseries) | R 3 881 214,00 |
| Supply Chain Management | R 3 474 465,00 |
| Human Resources | R 2 848 383,00 |
| Libraries and Archives | R 2 679 375,00 |
| Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordination | R 1 627 542,00 |
| Property Services | R 4 601,00 |
| Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and Crematoriums | -R 918 010,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | 2,617% | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 7,608 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | Not reported | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |