South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / B / LIM333

Greater Tzaneen

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,5B2022/23
Reported revenueR 1,5BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-9,991 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,5BR 1,5B
2023/24R 1,5BR 1,6B
2024/25R 1,7BR 1,9B

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/245,373%
2024/253,821%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 732 573 735,00
FinanceR 216 607 452,00
RoadsR 110 432 175,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 47 347 875,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 32 576 630,00
Fleet ManagementR 29 262 221,00
Street CleaningR 29 156 127,00
Mayor and CouncilR 28 186 860,00
Legal ServicesR 27 751 185,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 26 577 856,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 21 440 581,00
Human ResourcesR 17 582 432,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 17 406 385,00
Information TechnologyR 15 482 061,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 14 776 340,00
Public ToiletsR 13 525 736,00
HousingR 11 775 018,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 10 021 062,00
Health ServicesR 9 993 949,00
Asset ManagementR 9 312 519,00
Property ServicesR 7 010 546,00
Governance FunctionR 6 220 657,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 5 748 790,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 5 171 464,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 5 138 015,00
Disaster ManagementR 2 512 485,00
Risk ManagementR 2 429 651,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 1 802 291,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 37 295,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2020/21

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2015/16

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-9,991 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance0,125%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.