South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / B / LIM343

Thulamela

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 899,4M2023/24
Reported revenueR 900,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage13,168 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 836,7MR 829,1M
2023/24R 899,4MR 900,6M
2024/25R 1BR 934,6M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 209 221 009,00
Mayor and CouncilR 119 454 023,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 99 579 418,00
HousingR 74 412 722,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 70 088 602,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 52 327 881,00
FinanceR 49 419 568,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 41 417 614,00
Information TechnologyR 28 971 817,00
Legal ServicesR 28 941 428,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 26 663 922,00
Public TransportR 25 882 751,00
Human ResourcesR 25 025 891,00
Risk ManagementR 17 595 999,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 11 987 610,00
Project Management UnitR 4 846 009,00
Valuation ServiceR 4 147 910,00
Disaster ManagementR 2 289 437,00
Asset ManagementR 1 903 664,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 1 451 416,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 861 626,00
Governance FunctionR 842 759,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 385 784,00
Civil DefenceR 338 375,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 329 608,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 327 256,00
EducationR 273 377,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 239 626,00
Development FacilitationR 169 522,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 7 930,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 7 300,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage13,168 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance0,131%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.