South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / B / LIM361

Thabazimbi

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 612,5M2023/24
Reported revenueR 443MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage3,976 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 453,4MR 432,8M
2023/24R 612,5MR 443M
2024/25R 680,1MR 590,6M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 178 494 102,00
FinanceR 93 328 331,00
Water DistributionR 64 418 999,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 50 071 573,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 38 310 310,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 30 085 272,00
RoadsR 29 066 852,00
Security ServicesR 25 112 662,00
SewerageR 24 574 636,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 19 632 670,00
Water TreatmentR 14 950 359,00
Mayor and CouncilR 14 217 774,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 8 054 745,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 7 244 978,00
Governance FunctionR 3 421 470,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 3 130 290,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 2 015 340,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 1 538 596,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 1 402 145,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 261 128,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 1 007 983,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 653 299,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 387 193,00
Licensing and RegulationR 78 960,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2020/21

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2017/18

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2015/16

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage3,976 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-38,25%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.