South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Mpumalanga / B / MP311

Victor Khanye

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

35,1 / 100Financial pressure

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1B2023/24
Reported revenueR 691,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio3,991%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage1,665 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 789MR 559,1M
2023/24R 1BR 691,5M
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/235,272%
2023/243,991%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 381 513 251,00
ElectricityR 244 632 417,00
Water DistributionR 104 586 383,00
RoadsR 39 931 504,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 38 604 622,00
SewerageR 30 996 550,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 29 138 621,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 26 861 096,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 22 956 475,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 19 485 577,00
Mayor and CouncilR 12 294 954,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 11 704 966,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 11 429 683,00
Asset ManagementR 9 481 125,00
Fleet ManagementR 9 106 254,00
Information TechnologyR 8 757 206,00
Water TreatmentR 4 730 816,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 3 806 667,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 2 990 639,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 2 805 195,00
Storm Water ManagementR 2 791 055,00
HousingR 1 259 542,00
Public TransportR 1 234 662,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 880 931,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 776 038,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 666 741,00
Pollution ControlR 535 417,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 22 379,00
Governance FunctionR 5 014,00
Project Management UnitR 2 740,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance3,991%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage1,665 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-48,087%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.