South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Mpumalanga / B / MP315

Thembisile Hani

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 928,3M2022/23
Reported revenueR 861,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage2,744 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 928,3MR 861,6M
2023/24R 1,1BR 960,6M
2024/25Not reportedNot reported

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 309 978 269,00
Water DistributionR 189 209 455,00
Asset ManagementR 106 050 234,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 46 588 560,00
ElectricityR 41 160 763,00
Mayor and CouncilR 34 572 331,00
RoadsR 31 891 898,00
Fleet ManagementR 28 732 098,00
Information TechnologyR 20 611 863,00
Human ResourcesR 17 326 397,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 15 318 885,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 14 900 263,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 12 844 600,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 11 355 457,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 9 690 455,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 8 142 886,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 6 792 563,00
Project Management UnitR 6 476 846,00
Legal ServicesR 4 536 955,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 3 441 681,00
Governance FunctionR 3 337 464,00
Risk ManagementR 1 849 167,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 1 778 816,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 1 127 429,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 386 730,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 204 302,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage2,744 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-7,74%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.