South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC077

Siyathemba

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 216,5M2023/24
Reported revenueR 146,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage51,507 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 211,1MR 134,3M
2023/24R 216,5MR 146,5M
2024/25R 240,3MR 188,4M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/230,945%
2023/24Not reported
2024/251,174%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 73 699 543,00
ElectricityR 43 689 388,00
Mayor and CouncilR 24 075 086,00
RoadsR 19 089 907,00
Water DistributionR 17 434 599,00
SewerageR 10 864 438,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 7 591 839,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 5 307 873,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 4 899 016,00
Licensing and RegulationR 3 322 843,00
Security ServicesR 2 217 657,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 1 812 022,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 1 292 418,00
Human ResourcesR 643 712,00
Property ServicesR 524 584,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 15 629,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 14 819,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2017/18

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage51,507 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-47,752%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.