South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC092

Dikgatlong

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 307,4M2023/24
Reported revenueR 359,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-12,746 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 237,7MR 246,8M
2023/24R 307,4MR 359,6M
2024/25R 372,6MR 327,7M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/230,92%
2023/24Not reported
2024/250,063%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 121 363 013,00
ElectricityR 57 656 471,00
Water DistributionR 38 223 505,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 22 664 780,00
Asset ManagementR 13 436 374,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 10 654 790,00
RoadsR 9 573 191,00
Mayor and CouncilR 8 941 234,00
SewerageR 8 518 060,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 3 488 828,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 3 367 982,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 2 181 666,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 1 765 524,00
Human ResourcesR 1 707 298,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 1 354 570,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 1 254 720,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 1 069 333,00
Public ToiletsR 224 814,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2017/18

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2012/13

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2011/12

Outstanding

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-12,746 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance14,507%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.