South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
North West / B / NW374

Kgetlengrivier

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 330,2M2022/23
Reported revenueR 237,2MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,253 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 330,2MR 237,2M
2023/24R 405,3MR 256,1M
2024/25R 383,9MR 222,8M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/243,392%
2024/253,457%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 66 690 612,00
Mayor and CouncilR 60 202 864,00
FinanceR 59 663 637,00
Water DistributionR 38 965 246,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 36 838 069,00
RoadsR 22 234 250,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 11 914 526,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 11 664 401,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 7 811 280,00
SewerageR 4 175 556,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 593 411,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 3 242 066,00
Project Management UnitR 1 253 638,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 1 165 316,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 794 951,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2020/21

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,253 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-39,208%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.