South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
North West / B / NW392

Naledi (NW)

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 703,4M2023/24
Reported revenueR 496,1MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage1,388 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 654,9MR 434,5M
2023/24R 703,4MR 496,1M
2024/25R 793,6MR 588,8M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/230,903%
2023/24Not reported
2024/250,599%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 168 989 370,00
FinanceR 127 238 962,00
SewerageR 80 621 040,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 61 174 591,00
RoadsR 34 032 004,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 32 690 574,00
Mayor and CouncilR 20 764 991,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 20 626 996,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 18 950 475,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 15 596 855,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 15 592 581,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 14 928 698,00
Water DistributionR 14 703 731,00
Human ResourcesR 9 566 846,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 7 685 540,00
Legal ServicesR 7 445 317,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 7 101 185,00
HousingR 6 570 138,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 6 160 126,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 4 709 464,00
Nature ConservationR 4 307 158,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 3 786 328,00
Information TechnologyR 3 766 760,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 2 788 584,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 2 745 411,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 2 639 338,00
Project Management UnitR 2 111 181,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 551 203,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 1 331 826,00
Asset ManagementR 1 315 943,00
Valuation ServiceR 1 248 124,00
Property ServicesR 648 331,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 1 962,00
Sports Grounds and Stadiums-R 29 260,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2021/22

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Outstanding

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage1,388 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-41,79%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.