South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory

Your municipality. In focus.

Find the financial evidence behind local government. Compare performance, understand the context, and follow the source.

Find it on the map
54 municipalities match your selection
KwaZulu-Natal · Other public sources

Oversight and services. Beside the money.

Current geography · all municipality types. Each source uses its latest independent period. Local and district responsibilities overlap; observed municipal sums and official source totals are shown separately.

AGSA · 2024/25

Audit outcomes among reported municipalities

1

Adverse

7

Qualified

42

Unqualified with findings

4

Unqualified with no findings

54 reported audit opinions / 54 eligible municipalities. Missing audit opinions are separate from outcomes.

Explore the audit record →
Stats SA P9115 · 2023 service reference year

Served consumer units and free basic domestic provision.

Water

Observed served consumer units
2 927 844
Observed free basic domestic units
651 232
Official source total · served
2 927 844
Official source total · free basic
651 232

Served count: 54 / 54 eligible codes. Free basic: 54 / 54. 15 explicit municipal providers.

Electricity

Observed served consumer units
2 079 545
Observed free basic domestic units
323 029
Official source total · served
2 079 545
Official source total · free basic
323 029

Served count: 54 / 54 eligible codes. Free basic: 54 / 54. 29 explicit municipal providers.

Sewerage and sanitation

Observed served consumer units
2 508 636
Observed free basic domestic units
479 582
Official source total · served
2 508 636
Official source total · free basic
479 582

Served count: 54 / 54 eligible codes. Free basic: 54 / 54. 15 explicit municipal providers.

Solid waste management

Observed served consumer units
1 854 550
Observed free basic domestic units
379 440
Official source total · served
1 854 550
Official source total · free basic
379 440

Served count: 54 / 54 eligible codes. Free basic: 54 / 54. 43 explicit municipal providers.

Consumer units combine domestic and non-domestic units; free basic units are domestic. These counts do not measure resident access, service reliability or quality. The source’s 2023 figures are preliminary; 2022 figures are revised.

Compare the 2022 and 2023 reference years →

Observed financial-reporting consultant costs: R 215,6M · 54 reporting municipalities. Creditor days are not added across municipalities.

Source coverage and qualification notes
  • Public AGSA website JSON is an undocumented source contract; refresh failures preserve the last verified publication.
  • 66 municipality-service-year records have positive served counts and false municipal provider flags; source values are preserved separately, without attributing an alternative provider.
  • Only 2022 revised and 2023 preliminary municipal provider data is captured. Consumer units are not household access or service quality.
Check publication and source evidence →

Ratings describe financial resilience. Missing inputs remain visible.

Download CSV
Municipality financial indicators for 2023/24
MunicipalityFinancial resilienceExpenditureMaintenanceAudit opinion
NkandlaKwazulu-Natal · KZN28656,9 / 100R 219M1,617%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
NongomaKwazulu-Natal · KZN265Insufficient evidenceR 304MNot reportedQualified
NquthuKwazulu-Natal · KZN242Review source valuesR 325,1M5,455%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
OkhahlambaKwazulu-Natal · KZN235Insufficient evidenceR 285,9MNot reportedUnqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
Ray NkonyeniKwazulu-Natal · KZN21652,5 / 100R 1,3B4,658%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
RichmondKwazulu-Natal · KZN22748,3 / 100R 170M3,588%Unqualified - No findings
UguKwazulu-Natal · DC2148,2 / 100R 1,8B3,579%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UlundiKwazulu-Natal · KZN26641,8 / 100R 625M2,036%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UmdoniKwazulu-Natal · KZN21266,2 / 100R 413,5M7,854%Qualified
uMgungundlovuKwazulu-Natal · DC22Insufficient evidenceR 1,4BNot reportedUnqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UmhlabuyalinganaKwazulu-Natal · KZN271Insufficient evidenceR 348,9MNot reportedUnqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
uMhlathuzeKwazulu-Natal · KZN28231,7 / 100R 5,3B4,086%Unqualified - No findings
UmkhanyakudeKwazulu-Natal · DC27Insufficient evidenceR 847,3MNot reportedQualified
uMlalaziKwazulu-Natal · KZN284Review source valuesR 523,3M4,507%Unqualified - No findings
uMngeniKwazulu-Natal · KZN22258,6 / 100R 503,7M2,069%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
uMshwathiKwazulu-Natal · KZN221Review source valuesR 230,2M5,253%Unqualified - No findings
uMuziwabantuKwazulu-Natal · KZN21450,6 / 100R 295M4,701%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UmvotiKwazulu-Natal · KZN24541,6 / 100R 444,7M1,994%Unqualified - No findings
UmzimkhuluKwazulu-Natal · KZN43542 / 100R 325,5M2,068%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UmzinyathiKwazulu-Natal · DC2446,9 / 100R 809,2M3,26%Adverse opinion
UmzumbeKwazulu-Natal · KZN213Review source valuesR 247,3MNot reportedAdverse opinion
uPhongoloKwazulu-Natal · KZN262Review source valuesR 403,4M0,742%Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items
UthukelaKwazulu-Natal · DC23Insufficient evidenceR 1,2BNot reportedQualified
ZululandKwazulu-Natal · DC26Insufficient evidenceR 1,1BNot reportedUnqualified - Emphasis of Matter items