South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / C / DC15

O R Tambo

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 2B2024/25
Reported revenueR 1,8BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,296 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,6BR 1,4B
2023/24R 2BR 1,6B
2024/25R 2BR 1,8B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 1 113 126 363,00
Mayor and CouncilR 131 229 606,00
FinanceR 130 994 163,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 100 824 897,00
HousingR 91 556 785,00
Security ServicesR 73 433 681,00
Human ResourcesR 68 032 485,00
Information TechnologyR 34 982 432,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 33 311 154,00
Disaster ManagementR 28 927 696,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 28 850 902,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 27 939 605,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 24 660 369,00
Health ServicesR 23 675 186,00
Legal ServicesR 16 503 707,00
Nature ConservationR 12 847 452,00
Governance FunctionR 11 954 716,00
Population DevelopmentR 10 564 120,00
Public TransportR 6 279 268,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 6 144 315,00
TourismR 5 454 624,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 1 581 456,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2011/12

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,296 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-13,265%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.