South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC22

uMgungundlovu

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,6B2024/25
Reported revenueR 1,5BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage28,59 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,2BR 1,2B
2023/24R 1,4BR 1,4B
2024/25R 1,6BR 1,5B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 950 666 022,00
SewerageR 134 167 213,00
FinanceR 116 730 327,00
Disaster ManagementR 104 635 688,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 68 477 635,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 58 473 917,00
Population DevelopmentR 22 956 338,00
Mayor and CouncilR 19 987 423,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 15 399 542,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 14 061 963,00
Fleet ManagementR 13 932 879,00
Asset ManagementR 9 982 970,00
Information TechnologyR 8 152 408,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 6 127 714,00
Human ResourcesR 3 333 369,00
RoadsR 2 469 565,00
Cultural MattersR 966 481,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 652 174,00
Governance FunctionR 483 870,00
Pollution ControlR 321 452,00
EducationR 194 750,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 99 934,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 45 761,00
Aged CareR 5 200,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage28,59 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-5,654%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.