South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC28

King Cetshwayo

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,1B2024/25
Reported revenueR 912,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage34,003 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1BR 870,5M
2023/24R 1,1BR 905M
2024/25R 1,1BR 912,5M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 662 574 583,00
Fleet ManagementR 93 345 642,00
FinanceR 46 901 010,00
Property ServicesR 38 432 541,00
EducationR 35 256 513,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 34 452 847,00
Mayor and CouncilR 33 802 414,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 33 705 148,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 25 541 963,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 21 612 125,00
Nature ConservationR 17 857 933,00
Information TechnologyR 17 224 253,00
Human ResourcesR 12 646 530,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 8 449 458,00
Governance FunctionR 7 194 963,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 6 397 682,00
Disaster ManagementR 4 786 233,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 4 164 761,00
Pollution ControlR 3 032 620,00
Risk ManagementR 49 500,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage34,003 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-21,366%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.