South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Mpumalanga / C / DC31

Nkangala

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1B2024/25
Reported revenueR 894,9MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,947 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 796,2MR 726,1M
2023/24R 1,1BR 991,5M
2024/25R 1BR 894,9M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Development FacilitationR 575 640 097,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 68 331 109,00
Information TechnologyR 55 747 623,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 42 113 066,00
Health ServicesR 40 925 042,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 39 374 946,00
Property ServicesR 38 844 506,00
Mayor and CouncilR 38 231 140,00
FinanceR 27 340 345,00
Population DevelopmentR 20 355 975,00
Human ResourcesR 14 631 338,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 11 160 974,00
Governance FunctionR 10 836 434,00
Disaster ManagementR 10 586 063,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 6 927 146,00
Legal ServicesR 6 577 779,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 5 917 016,00
Pollution ControlR 4 307 705,00
Risk ManagementR 4 170 679,00
Support to Local MunicipalitiesR 2 902 853,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 2 617 551,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 2 610 997,00
Asset ManagementR 1 161 301,00
TourismR 155 886,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,947 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-15,262%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.