South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / C / DC36

Waterberg

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 189,8M2024/25
Reported revenueR 165,4MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-0,12 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 04

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 172,3MR 154,9M
2023/24R 181MR 159,8M
2024/25R 189,8MR 165,4M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 41 942 611,00
Health ServicesR 28 338 080,00
FinanceR 28 225 751,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 27 087 536,00
Mayor and CouncilR 26 839 010,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 10 182 992,00
AbattoirsR 7 637 342,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 6 399 450,00
RoadsR 6 226 391,00
Support to Local MunicipalitiesR 4 413 438,00
Aged CareR 2 488 930,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 546 605,00
Disaster ManagementR 438 796,00
Economic Development/Planning-R 1 006 067,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2015/16

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-0,12 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-14,727%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.