Audit not available
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023/24 | R 785,8M | R 513,7M |
| 2024/25 | R 893,5M | R 575,6M |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | Not reported |
| 2023/24 | 0,334% |
| 2024/25 | 0,779% |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Water Distribution | R 294 570 823,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 179 105 033,00 |
| Finance | R 84 609 223,00 |
| Water Treatment | R 72 729 715,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 72 233 473,00 |
| Fire Fighting and Protection | R 47 257 756,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 43 420 349,00 |
| Economic Development/Planning | R 29 759 238,00 |
| Governance Function | R 29 588 944,00 |
| Pollution Control | R 22 516 554,00 |
| Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs) | R 7 983 916,00 |
| Project Management Unit | R 7 185 050,00 |
| Support to Local Municipalities | R 2 209 995,00 |
| Asset Management | R 341 138,00 |
| Central City Improvement District | R 17 727,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | 0,779% | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 3,873 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | -55,228% | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |