South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / C / DC43

Harry Gwala

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 712,9M2024/25
Reported revenueR 656,2MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage22,75 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 635,1MR 560,4M
2023/24R 772,5MR 591,9M
2024/25R 712,9MR 656,2M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Project Management UnitR 161 791 215,00
Water TreatmentR 145 447 879,00
Water DistributionR 99 734 624,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 84 397 800,00
Information TechnologyR 79 101 537,00
FinanceR 27 137 647,00
Mayor and CouncilR 20 187 199,00
Disaster ManagementR 18 203 770,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 16 397 154,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 14 836 947,00
Human ResourcesR 14 104 039,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 9 127 174,00
Governance FunctionR 8 316 307,00
Support to Local MunicipalitiesR 5 637 933,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 252 101,00
Legal ServicesR 2 029 095,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 987 695,00
SewerageR 184 922,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage22,75 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-8,63%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.