South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / C / DC44

Alfred Nzo

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 965,1M2024/25
Reported revenueR 978,2MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage17,365 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 816,8MR 847,5M
2023/24R 876,8MR 908,3M
2024/25R 965,1MR 978,2M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/231,316%
2023/241,728%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 292 175 516,00
FinanceR 111 761 105,00
Asset ManagementR 75 348 163,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 60 137 946,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 46 002 894,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 39 014 604,00
ElectricityR 36 367 702,00
Project Management UnitR 35 957 130,00
Human ResourcesR 33 171 184,00
Health ServicesR 32 883 744,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 30 356 765,00
Information TechnologyR 29 632 025,00
Legal ServicesR 29 251 763,00
Mayor and CouncilR 21 506 253,00
Governance FunctionR 15 373 437,00
Disaster ManagementR 13 243 409,00
Fleet ManagementR 11 476 092,00
SewerageR 10 993 615,00
Population DevelopmentR 9 237 684,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 7 337 837,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 7 311 003,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 5 804 616,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 5 438 017,00
Risk ManagementR 3 086 729,00
Cultural MattersR 1 203 859,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 764 391,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 177 500,00
RoadsR 37 800,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 28 000,00
Public Toilets-R 1,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2021/22

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage17,365 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance1,341%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.