South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / C / DC47

Sekhukhune

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,7B2024/25
Reported revenueR 1,4BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage2,478 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 1,2BR 1,2B
2023/24R 1,6BR 1,3B
2024/25R 1,7BR 1,4B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Water DistributionR 782 119 991,00
FinanceR 363 223 704,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 254 709 083,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 121 957 632,00
Mayor and CouncilR 101 601 721,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 22 940 525,00
Support to Local MunicipalitiesR 12 178 757,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 28 186,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage2,478 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-19,736%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.