South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / C / DC9

Frances Baard

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 148,3M2024/25
Reported revenueR 162,9MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage9,986 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 139,6MR 147,6M
2023/24R 152,6MR 155,2M
2024/25R 148,3MR 162,9M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 44 109 690,00
FinanceR 19 367 680,00
Mayor and CouncilR 14 984 510,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 13 304 434,00
Coastal ProtectionR 11 906 302,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 9 388 146,00
Disaster ManagementR 8 951 840,00
Human ResourcesR 5 164 846,00
Information TechnologyR 3 686 101,00
TourismR 3 515 880,00
HousingR 3 320 284,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 2 789 027,00
Governance FunctionR 2 520 392,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 2 353 329,00
Legal ServicesR 1 624 519,00
Risk ManagementR 1 311 319,00
Project Management UnitR 2 426,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage9,986 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance8,954%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.