South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / B / EC121

Mbhashe

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 432,6M2024/25
Reported revenueR 469,3MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio9,428%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage1,985 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 343,9MR 388,2M
2023/24R 403MR 441M
2024/25R 432,6MR 469,3M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/24Not reported
2024/259,428%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 96 520 667,00
FinanceR 70 038 130,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 58 749 065,00
Mayor and CouncilR 34 396 741,00
Asset ManagementR 31 504 973,00
Human ResourcesR 26 480 083,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 24 152 948,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 22 291 750,00
ElectricityR 8 734 956,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 8 236 124,00
Property ServicesR 7 761 578,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 7 240 741,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 6 461 810,00
Information TechnologyR 5 629 218,00
Project Management UnitR 3 369 501,00
Aged CareR 2 973 571,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 2 793 477,00
Governance FunctionR 2 033 591,00
Legal ServicesR 1 923 590,00
Development FacilitationR 1 542 810,00
HousingR 1 383 406,00
Population DevelopmentR 1 031 110,00
Pollution ControlR 954 505,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 934 774,00
Licensing and Control of AnimalsR 925 022,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 813 500,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 708 706,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 667 483,00
Fleet ManagementR 568 936,00
Coastal ProtectionR 453 130,00
Health ServicesR 357 705,00
Risk ManagementR 259 472,00
PoundsR 255 298,00
Valuation ServiceR 233 339,00
Nature ConservationR 104 975,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 88 725,00
Animal Care and DiseasesR 27 317,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance9,428%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage1,985 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance7,826%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.