South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Eastern Cape / B / EC122

Mnquma

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 708,7M2024/25
Reported revenueR 518,4MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-2,222 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 04

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 594,3MR 439,4M
2023/24R 767,2MR 474,9M
2024/25R 708,7MR 518,4M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 264 066 410,00
FinanceR 140 917 486,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 44 447 018,00
Asset ManagementR 44 005 182,00
Mayor and CouncilR 37 661 131,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 35 293 947,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 29 846 179,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 28 688 469,00
Human ResourcesR 15 416 116,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 12 158 351,00
Fleet ManagementR 11 847 211,00
Information TechnologyR 10 580 726,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 10 459 032,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 7 934 429,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 6 912 966,00
Legal ServicesR 6 548 657,00
ElectricityR 590 704,00
Governance FunctionR 568 268,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 383 068,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 364 600,00
Risk ManagementR 42 411,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-2,222 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-36,707%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.